Coral fishery

Fishery symbol

  • D: Coral fishery


Operating area


The fishery is managed through total allowable catch, divided into 2 buckets of individual transferrable quota (ITQs) units allocated to each licence:

  • specialty coral (DS) and other coral
  • seven specialty species that have their own ITQs.

Specialty coral

Within the specialty coral (DS) bucket, each species or family allowed also has a prescribed commercial catch limit.

If taking specialty coral, fishers must also hold a DS quota to allow for the 25% trimming factor for substrate.


To operate in the fishery, you need a:

A1 symbols and D symbols can be fished together on the same fishing trip, provided that both symbols are on the same primary commercial fishing licence.

Reporting and monitoring

Commercial fishers must:


  • One primary boat.
  • One tender boat only.

Target species

  • Hard corals
  • Soft corals
  • Sea anemones
  • Live rock (dead coral skeletons with algae and other organisms living on them)
  • Coral rubble (coarsely broken up coral fragments)
  • Coral sand (finely ground-up particles of coral skeleton)

Size or take limits

  • Coral cannot be trimmed at sea and must be landed as collected.
  • Coral cannot be returned to the water once it is removed.
  • Coral sand:
    • only take as incidental catch
    • must not target in marine park waters.