Electricity transmission

The electricity transmission grid consists of electric lines, substations and associated equipment that transports electricity between generation facilities and the distribution networks or directly to some large customers.

There are currently 3 transmission network service providers authorised to operate in Queensland:

  • Powerlink Queensland
  • ElectraNet Pty Limited
  • AusNet Transmission Group Pty Ltd, trading as AusNet Services.

Powerlink Queensland is the Queensland Government owned corporation (GOC) that owns, develops, operates and maintains the majority of the high-voltage electricity transmission network in Queensland.

Powerlink's network extends 1,700km from Cairns to the New South Wales border, and comprises 15,345 circuit km of transmission lines and 147 substations.

Most of the Queensland power stations in the east coast network are directly connected to Powerlink's transmission system. The Powerlink network is connected to New South Wales via the large-capacity Queensland – New South Wales Interconnector (QNI) and the smaller Terranora interconnector.