Building laws and codes

Current laws and regulations

Find repealed or previous reprint editions of Queensland legislation.

Current codes and standards

Queensland Development Code

The Queensland Development Code consolidates Queensland-specific building standards into a single document and covers Queensland matters outside the scope of, and in addition to, the Building Code of Australia.

National Construction Code

The National Construction Code (NCC) provides the minimum necessary requirements for safety, health, amenity and sustainability in the design and construction of new buildings (and new building work in existing buildings) throughout Australia.

The NCC includes:

  • Building Code of Australia (BCA), Volume 1, for Class 2 to 9 buildings (commercial, industrial and multi-residential buildings)
  • Building Code of Australia (BCA), Volume 2, for Class 1 and 10 buildings (houses, sheds and carports)
  • Plumbing Code of Australia (PCA), Volume 3, for plumbing and drainage for all classes of buildings.

National Construction Code 2022

The National Construction Code (NCC) 2022 commenced on 1 May 2023, with the phase in of the Modern Homes provisions for liveable (accessible) housing commencing on 1 October 2023. The Modern Homes' energy efficiency changes commenced on 1 May 2024.

Learn more about the NCC 2022, including information and guidance material.

Building certification

Most types of building work require development approval before construction begins. Find out more about building approval and certification.