Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: We are currently updating information following recent Queensland and Australian Government announcements. Find assistance and support for coronavirus affected businesses and industries.

Building access standards for people with a disability

Under the Disability Discrimination Act 1992, building certifiers and people involved in designing, constructing and managing a building must comply with standards to provide building access to people with a disability.

Premises Standards

The national Disability (Access to Premises–Building) Standards 2010, known as the Premises Standards, outlines the building standards for providing public access to buildings for people with a disability (other than for a Class 1 building).

The Premises Standards apply to:

  • new buildings
  • upgrades of existing buildings.

These standards:

  • ensure that people with a disability have dignified, equitable, cost‑effective and reasonably achievable access to buildings, and facilities and services within buildings
  • give building certifiers, building developers and building managers certainty that providing access in compliance with the standards also complies with the Act.

The Premises Standards have harmonised building compliance to be in line with the Disability Discrimination Act 1992.


Coronavirus (COVID-19) business support: 1300 654 687

General enquiries: 13 QGOV (13 74 68)