Board of Examiners

The Board of Examiners is established under Part 10 of the Coal Mining Safety and Health Act 1999 and Part 10 of the Mining and Quarrying Safety and Health Act 1999.

Role and functions

The board's role is to set exams and issue certificates of competency to people who want to work in statutory positions in the metalliferous and coal mining industries in Queensland.

The Board of Examiners:

  • determines the required competencies
  • assesses applications
  • grant certificates and Site Senior Executive (SSE) notices
  • ensures the competencies required in Queensland are consistent with those in other states.

The Board of Examiners consists of a chairman who is an inspector and at least 6 other members, each with at least 10 years practical experience in the mining industry. At least 6 members must be currently engaged in the mining industry.

Practising Certificate Scheme

The Practising Certificate Scheme online portal is now accessible to all certificate of competency and notice holders.

The Practising Certificate Scheme (PDF, 389KB) has been developed by the Board of Examiners and closes out the recommendation from the 1994 Moura No.2 disaster, and subsequent inquiry report (from 3 January 1996), concerning "certificate holders maintain a sound knowledge base on, and keep abreast of, technical developments in coal mining and most particularly those relevant to coal mine safety", and the Johnstaff review of Board of Examiners (from 11 May 2020).

It further aligns with contemporary continuing professional development required of high hazard industries and professions, allowing alignment with other mining jurisdictions to enable transferability of certificates.

Register for the scheme

Once registered you can start recording your continued professional development activities. Prior to registering, ensure you read the requirements and instructions.

Contact us

Board of Examiners Secretary
Resources Safety and Health
GPO Box 1321

Phone: (07) 3199 8037

Board Members as at 18 June 2021

MemberAppointed Term of appointment ends
Peter Newman (Chair) (Chief Inspector of Coal Mines)
Ex-Officio Appointment
18 January 2021 1 January 2050
Geraldine Gillespie 18 June 2021 17 June 2024
Adam Barton 18 June 2021 17 June 2024
Rebecca Roper 18 June 2021 17 June 2024
Hermann Fasching (Chief Inspector of Mines and Quarries) Ex-Officio Appointment  
Shaun Dobson (Deputy Chief Inspector of Coal Mines) 4 June 2020 3 June 2023
Angela Dow 4 June 2020 3 June 2023
Stephen Watts 4 June 2020 3 June 2023
Matthew Way 4 June 2020 3 June 2023
Leslie Marlborough 4 June 2020 3 June 2023

Also consider...