The Queensland Government is now in caretaker mode until after the state election. Minimal updates will be made to this site until after the election results are declared.

Agricultural land classes

For agricultural land audit purposes, land and soil information has been classified using the Agricultural land class (ALC) scheme.

The scheme brings together data from over 250 separate projects into a four-tier hierarchy ranging from Class A (arable land) through to Class D (land that is unsuitable for agriculture).

Agricultural land classes also informs mapping of agricultural potential and is a key component of the state's interest under the State Planning Policy.

Adapted from the Agricultural land evaluation guidelines for Queensland, the standard definitions of each class are:

Class A

Crop land that is suitable for a wide range of current and potential crops with nil to moderate limitations to production.

Class B

Limited crop land that is suitable for a narrow range of current and potential crops due to severe limitations, but is highly suitable for pastures. Land may be suitable for cropping with engineering or agronomic improvements.

Class C

Pasture land that is suitable only for improved or native pastures due to limitations which preclude continuous cultivation for crop production. Some areas may tolerate a short period of ground disturbance for pasture establishment.

Class D

Non-agricultural land and land not suitable for agricultural uses due to extreme limitations. This may be undisturbed land with significant conservation or catchment values, land that may be unsuitable because of very steep slopes, shallow soils, rock outcrop, poor drainage, salinity, acidic drainage, or is an urbanised area.

Also consider…