Overview of commercial trawl fisheries

Threshold notice for the southern inshore trawl region

In the southern inshore trawl region, 70% of maximum effort units for the current fishing season (1 November 2022 to 31 October 2023) have been used.

From 3 August 2023, T1 licence holders must not use, or allow another person to use, the primary boat identified in a T1 licence in the southern inshore trawl region for more than 24 days in each whole month. The first whole month starts on 3 August 2023 and will end on 2 September 2023. The 24 days per month restriction will remain in place until 31 October 2023.

Note: The annual closure for the southern inshore trawl region will still be in effect from midday 20 September to midday 1 November.

This notice was issued in accordance with s86BA of the Fisheries Declaration 2019.

Trawl fisheries are Queensland's largest commercial fisheries.

There are 2 basic types of trawling: otter trawling and beam trawling. The otter trawl fishery, which operates in more open waters, is by far the larger, accounting for about 95% of the total harvest taken each year. Beam trawlers are used in estuaries.

Queensland has 4 main trawl fisheries:

  • the east coast otter trawl fishery
  • the Moreton Bay otter trawl fishery
  • the river and inshore beam trawl fishery
  • the fin fish (stout whiting) trawl fishery.

This guide gives an overview of Queensland's commercial trawl fisheries, including management areas, target species, gear used, licensing and regulations.