Movement controls for electric ants in Queensland

Electric ant biosecurity zones are in place in areas of Queensland to restrict the movement of materials that could carry electric ants. (These materials are referred to as electric ant carriers.) Controls are in place within these biosecurity zones to prevent electric ants from spreading, and are essential to eradicating them.

The Biosecurity Act 2014 and the Biosecurity Regulation 2016 place obligations on people to reduce the risk of spreading electric ants. If your activities involve the movement or storage of electric ant carriers you have a general biosecurity obligation to take all reasonable steps to ensure that you do not spread electric ants.

Electric ant carriers

There are restrictions on the movement of materials that can carry electric ants within the electric ant biosecurity zone. These electric ant carriers include, but are not limited to:

  • soil
  • potted plants
  • cuttings from plants
  • fruit from plants
  • a thing that has come into contact with the ground (e.g. bee hives, pot plants, garden furniture)
  • turf
  • mulch
  • baled hay or straw
  • animal manures
  • material that is a product or by-product of mining or quarrying
  • composted materials.

Before moving an electric ant carrier from a property within the electric ant biosecurity zone, you are required to request a biosecurity instrument permit.

You can report electric ants online, or for further assistance, contact Biosecurity Queensland on 13 25 23.

Electric ant biosecurity zones

The following maps show where movement controls apply:

Managing electric ant carriers

When moving electric ant carriers from a property in a biosecurity zone residents and businesses must comply with the relevant movement controls.

You must hold a biosecurity instrument permit, which allows you to move an electric ant carrier:

  • between properties within a biosecurity zone
  • or
  • from a property within a biosecurity zone to a property outside of the biosecurity zone.

A permit is not required if the electric ant carrier is moved only to the approved waste facilities listed in the following table.

Waste facility name Address

Portsmith Waste and Recycling Transfer Station

35–51 Lyons Street

Smithfield Waste and Recycling Transfer Station

Lot 1 Dunne Road

Gordonvale Waste and Recycling Transfer Station

Lot 1 Bruce Highway

Kuranda Waste and Recycling Transfer Station

2186 Kennedy Highway

Northern Sands Pty. Ltd. Waste Disposal and Reduction Services

Lot 5 Captain Cook Highway

Medalfield Pty. Ltd. Waste Disposal and Reduction Services

78 Lower Freshwater Road

Pioneer North Queensland Pty. Ltd. and Barron Sand No. 1 Pty. Ltd.

Off Lake Placid Road

To request a site inspection, complete the request a site inspection form or phone Biosecurity Queensland on 13 25 23.