The National Livestock Identification System (NLIS)

NLIS ensures that the lifetime movements of cattle, sheep, pigs and goats can be identified within Australia.

Individual electronic identification (eID) for sheep and managed goats will start from 1 January 2025 as part of an agreed national initiative. You may be eligible for funding to help you implement the eID system.


Approved devices or tags

Information about NLIS approved devices or tags and how to obtain them.

Livestock owners

Find what the NLIS requirements are for livestock owners.

Live export holding facilities

Learn about the NLIS requirements for live export holding facilities.


Saleyards requirements for the NLIS.

Abattoirs and slaughterhouses

NLIS requirements for abattoirs and slaughterhouses.

Livestock sporting events

NLIS requirements for sporting events that involve livestock.

Transit centres

NLIS requirements for transit centres.

Goat depots

NLIS requirements for goat depots.

Local authorities operating pounds

NLIS requirements for local authorities operating pounds.

Sheep and goat individual electronic identification (eID)

Find out how to meet your obligations for mandatory sheep and goat electronic identification (eID) and why it's being introduced.