Electricity generation

Queensland currently has a generation capacity of more than 14,500 megawatts (MW). Since 1998, $4.7 billion or 75% of new generation investment in the National Electricity Market (NEM) has occurred in Queensland. The high quality and low cost of Queensland fuel sources, its potential renewable energy sources, and their proximity to load growth will continue to support generation investment in this state.

National Electricity Market

The NEM operates as a wholesale market in which generators and retailers trade electricity through a gross pool managed by the Australian Energy Market Operator, which dispatches supply to meet demand.

More information on the NEM can be found on the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) website.


Government-owned corporations have a stake in about 65% of the state's generation capacity, but the numbers of partially or fully privately owned power stations are increasing. The Queensland Government plans to reduce the share of the aggregate capacity the state owns or operates in Queensland to around 50%, primarily as a result of new capacity requirements being met by the private sector.

The government maintains outright ownership of power stations operated by Stanwell Corporation and CS Energy. It has undertaken joint ventures with private power generation companies (Callide C) and maintains a power purchase agreement with the privately owned Gladstone power station.

Licensed Queensland electricity generators (with a licensed capacity over 30MW) are listed in the table below and can also be found on this map of Queensland electricity generators (PDF, 928.3KB), current as at January 2013.

Queensland electricity generators with over 30MW capacity

Name Type Owner Year commissioned Capacity (MW)
Ballera Gas Santos 1996-2002 50
Barcaldine Gas Ergon Energy Electricity 1996 55
Barron Gorge Hydro Power Stanwell 1963 63
BP Bulwer Gas BP Refinery Bulwer Island 2001 31
Braemar Gas Braemar Power Project 2006 900
Braemar 2 Gas NewGen Braemar 2 2009 450
Callide A Coal CS Energy 1965 120
Callide B Coal CS Energy 1988 700
Callide C Coal IG Power/Callide 2001 900
Cannington Gas Energy Developments Limited 1998 35
Capcoal (German Creek) Waste Coal Mine Gas Energy Developments Limited 2006 45
Condamine Gas Queensland Gas Company 2009 155
Daandine Gas Arrow Energy 2007 33
Darling Downs Gas Origin Energy 2010 643
Gladstone Coal NRG Gladstone Operating Services 1976 1680
Invicta Bagasse Haughton Sugar Company 1996 50
Kareeya Hydro Power Stanwell 1957 86.4
Kogan Creek Coal CS Energy 2007 750
Mackay Gas Stanwell 1975 32
Mica Creek Gas Stanwell 2000 367.9
Millmerran Coal Millmerran Energy 2003 840
Moranbah North Waste Coal Mine Gas Energy Developments Limited 2008 57
Mt Stuart Gas Origin Energy 1999 414
Oakey Gas AGL Hydro Partnership 2000 300
Phosphate Hill Gas Southern Cross Fertilisers 2000 41.35
Pioneer Bagasse Sucrogen 2005 69
Racecourse Bagasse Mackay Sugar 1982 48.5
Roma Gas Origin Energy 1999 76
Stanwell Coal Stanwell 1993 1446.9
Swanbank B Gas Stanwell 1971 500
Swanbank E Gas Stanwell 2002 385
Tarong Coal Stanwell 1986 1415
Tarong North Coal Stanwell 2003 450
Townsville Gas RATCH-Australia Townsville 2004 242
Xstrata Gas Mount Isa Mines 2007 50
Yarwun Gas RTA Yarwun 2010 160
Wivenhoe Hydro Power CS Energy 1984 500

Related links

Last reviewed
May 19, 2015