Coronavirus (COVID-19) update: We are currently updating information following recent Queensland and Australian Government announcements. Find assistance and support for coronavirus affected businesses and industries.

Coal Mining Safety and Health Advisory Committee

The committee advises the Minister on the safety and health of coal mine workers by:

  • reviewing the effectiveness of coal mining safety legislation (Act, Regulations and recognised standards)
  • reviewing the effectiveness of risk management in coal mining operations
  • establishing the coal mining competencies that are required to perform certain roles or tasks.

Committee members

The committee members represent the Queensland Government, mine workers and mine operators. Members are appointed for terms of up to 3 years by the Minister and there is no limit to the number of terms members can serve.

  • Kate du Preez, Commissioner for Mine Safety and Health, Chair
  • Peter Newman, Chief Inspector of Mines (Coal Mines), Queensland Mines Inspectorate
  • Ian Cribb, Queensland Resources Council
  • Shaun Dobson, Queensland Mines Inspectorate
  • Stephen Evetts, Electrical Trades Union
  • Bobbie Foot, Queensland Resources Council
  • Jim Randell, Queensland Resources Council
  • Stephen Smyth, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union
  • Mark Stone, Queensland Mines Inspectorate

Substitute members

  • Kylie Ah Wong, Queensland Resources Council
  • Peter Baker, Queensland Resources Council
  • Jay Denman, Electrical Trades Union
  • Jason Hill, Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union

Annual report


Contact the Commissioner

Phone: +61 7 3096 6528