Betting tax

Betting tax is a self-assessed tax on the taxable wagering revenue (TWR) of a betting operator’s betting transactions with customers in Queensland. It will be administered by the Office of State Revenue.

Betting tax will commence from 1 October 2018 and apply to betting operators whose TWR exceeds the annual tax-free threshold. The annual threshold amount is $300,000 but for the 2018–19 financial year, it will be apportioned to $225,000.

The betting tax rate is 15% of the TWR that exceeds the annual threshold amount.

Betting operators who reach the annual threshold amount must register with us and lodge monthly and annual returns. But in some limited cases, monthly returns may not be required.

On-course bookmakers are only required to lodge and pay tax on an annual basis once their TWR exceeds the threshold.

We are preparing more comprehensive information for betting operators to explain their betting tax obligations—it will be available closer to 1 October. In the meantime, read the Betting Tax Act 2018 and explanatory notes for detailed information.

You can contact us by email: or call 1300 300 734 if you have any questions.

If you need specific information about how the betting tax will affect your business, you should seek your own legal advice.

Also consider...