Trading hours of retail shops in Queensland

The trading hours of retail shops in Queensland are regulated by:

  • the Trading (Allowable Hours) Act 1990
  • the Trading (Allowable Hours) Regulation 2004
  • various orders made by the Queensland Industrial Relations Commission.

Generally the minimum allowable trading hours throughout Queensland are:

  • 8am to 9pm Monday to Friday
  • 8am to 5pm on Saturday (extended hours may apply in certain areas)
  • extended hours may also apply in certain areas on Sundays and on certain public holidays.

Hours of trade will depend on the classification of shop.

Shops are mainly classed as:

  • exempt shops
  • independent retail shops
  • non-exempt shops.

This guide explains what trading hours apply to retail shops in Queensland depending on their classification.

Last reviewed
September 8, 2014

State legislation applies

State legislation regarding private employment agents, trading hours, public holidays and child employment continues to apply to all businesses and employees in Queensland.


General enquiries 13 QGOV (13 74 68)

Connect Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Youtube